On Saturday, Oct. 5, 2013, the 25th annual Tri Counties Central Labor Council Labor Leader of the Year Awards Dinner was held at the Oxnard Marriot Residence Inn.

This year’s honorees were Ricardo F. Icarza, President of the United Food and Commercial Workers Union Local 770, in Los Angeles, and John Beaumont, President of the California State Association of Letter Carriers. Both men have, over the course of long and distinguished careers, contributed a great deal to the labor movement in the Tri-Counties and in California.

Among the attendees were State Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson, Oxnard Mayor Tim Flynn, Santa Barbara County Supervisors Janet Wolf and Salud Carbajal, and Ventura County Supervisors Steve Bennett and John Zaragosa. Also attending was Mike Terman, the California Federation of Teachers Area Representative, and Debra Stakes, President of CFT Local 4909, at Cuesta College. Because of the current government shutdown, Congresswomen Lois Capps and Julia Brownley, who were expected to attend, were unable to be there. PFA President Mark James Miller also attended.